Canada Markets close in 6 hrs 28 mins
1 / 20

Artifacts from 100 Years of Federal Reserve

Photograph of the First Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. The Federal Reserve Board was created by Congress in 1914 through the Federal Reserve Act to be the governing body of the Federal Reserve System. The President of the United States was responsible for appointing five members to the Board, subject to the approval of the Senate. The Secretary of the Treasury and the Comptroller of the Currency were originally considered ex officio members. Pictured here are: Paul M. Warburg; John Skelton Williams, Comptroller of the Currency; William P. G. Harding; Adolph C. Miller; Charles S. Hamlin; William G. McAdoo, Secretary of the Treasury; and Frederic A. Delano.

Artifacts from 100 Years of Federal Reserve

President Woodrow Wilson signed the Federal Reserve Act on December 23rd,

1913, the Federal Reserve System was established on that day.


celebrate the Centennial of the Federal Reserve, the Museum of American

Finance is holding an exhibition called "100 Years, 100 Objects". The exhibit feature objects

that reflect the history and explain different facets of the Federal

Reserve System. Here are some artifacts that are featured in the