Canada markets open in 6 hours 39 minutes
  • S&P/TSX

    20,602.10
    -91.69 (-0.44%)
     
  • S&P 500

    4,473.75
    -6.95 (-0.16%)
     
  • DOW

    34,751.32
    -63.07 (-0.18%)
     
  • CAD/USD

    0.7900
    +0.0014 (+0.17%)
     
  • CRUDE OIL

    72.29
    -0.32 (-0.44%)
     
  • BTC-CAD

    60,688.96
    -923.11 (-1.50%)
     
  • CMC Crypto 200

    1,225.91
    -7.38 (-0.60%)
     
  • GOLD FUTURES

    1,765.40
    +8.70 (+0.50%)
     
  • RUSSELL 2000

    2,232.91
    -1.54 (-0.07%)
     
  • 10-Yr Bond

    1.3310
    0.0000 (0.00%)
     
  • NASDAQ futures

    15,535.00
    +17.25 (+0.11%)
     
  • VOLATILITY

    18.69
    +0.51 (+2.81%)
     
  • FTSE

    7,027.48
    +10.99 (+0.16%)
     
  • NIKKEI 225

    30,500.05
    +176.71 (+0.58%)
     
  • CAD/EUR

    0.6706
    +0.0008 (+0.12%)
     

WhatsApp introduces a 'View Once' feature that deletes photos or videos immediately after they are opened

·2 min read

WhatsApp has rolled out a new feature for its iOS and Android users that will allow them to send images and videos that will disappear after they've been opened. This 'View Once' feature deletes the media file once the recipient sees it, just like on Instagram and Snapchat.

WhatsApp assures that the "View Once" media is protected by end-to-end encryption so that even the platform does not have access to it. Such media files will be marked as "one-time" and once viewed, it will show an "opened" tag. WhatsApp further states that such media files will not be stored in the Gallery of the receiver. Users will not be able to forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with the "view once" feature.

This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.

If the receiver has turned on the read receipts option, then only can the sender find out if the file sent with the view once enabled has been opened or not. If the media file sent with the view once feature is not opened within 14 days of it being sent, it will "expire" from the chat. Notably, the sender has to manually choose the view once feature every time they send an image or video.

WhatsApp reveals that view once media can be restored from back given that it is unopened at the time of back up. As per the company blog, "If the photo or video has already been opened, the media will not be included in the backup and can't be restored."

Also See: WhatsApp rolls out 'Archived Chats' feature to keep a few chats hidden even after new text messages: How it works

Read more on News & Analysis by Firstpost.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting