Canada markets open in 7 hours 34 minutes
  • S&P/TSX

    +107.96 (+0.56%)
  • S&P 500

    -10.56 (-0.25%)
  • DOW

    -54.34 (-0.16%)

    +0.0014 (+0.17%)

    +0.23 (+0.35%)

    +2,965.27 (+5.76%)
  • CMC Crypto 200

    +60.96 (+5.09%)

    +2.60 (+0.14%)
  • RUSSELL 2000

    +2.49 (+0.11%)
  • 10-Yr Bond

    0.0000 (0.00%)
  • NASDAQ futures

    +70.50 (+0.53%)

    +0.91 (+4.84%)
  • FTSE

    -10.76 (-0.15%)
  • NIKKEI 225

    +631.35 (+2.27%)

    +0.0006 (+0.09%)

Bengal Elections: Voting for 45 seats in phase 5 begins today; over 1 cr voters to decide fate of 342 candidates

FP Staff
·2 min read

Emerging from the shadows of a bloody and violent phase four election, the state of West Bengal will conduct another episode of the massive eight-phased Assembly polls on Saturday (17 April) in 45 seats spread across north Bengal and the Hills. The polling will take place from 7 am to 6 pm.

Over one crore voters will hold sway over the political fate of 342 candidates across 45 constituencies spread across five districts.

Security measures have been heightened for phase five in view of the violence in the previous phase, which witnessed the death of five people in Cooch Behar, including four in CISF firing.

The Election Commission has decided to deploy at least 853 companies of central forces to ensure free and fair voting, an official of the poll panel said.

It will also put in place measures to ensure strict adherence to COVID-19 protocols during the voting process, he said.

West Bengal on Thursday recorded the highest single-day spike of 6,769 coronavirus cases and at least 22 more fatalities.

Prominent names in the fifth phase include Siliguri Mayor and Left Front leader Ashok Bhattacharya, state ministers Gautam Deb and Bratya Basu and BJP's Samik Bhattacharya.

Voting will be held at 15,789 polling stations in the 45 constituencies 16 seats in North 24 Parganas, eight each in Purba Bardhaman and Nadia, seven in Jalpaiguri, five in Darjeeling and one in Kalimpong district. The phase is crucial for the ruling Trinamool Congress, which is hoping to better its 2016 tally of 32 seats, even as a resurgent BJP looks to make inroads.

The Left-Congress alliance had bagged 10 seats in the assembly elections five years ago. TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee, who had Thursday urged the EC to consider conducting the polls for the remaining assembly seats at one go in the wake of the emerging COVID-19 situation, held several public meetings and roadshows in most of the seats in the run-up to the fifth phase.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah led the campaign blitzkrieg of the BJP, which has fortified TMC's main challenger in this election.

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, too, has held two public meetings in north Bengal as part of his first campaign in the state for the assembly polls.

Campaigning for the fifth phase ended on Wednesday with the EC having increased the 'silence period' from 48 to 72 hours in view of the Cooch Behar violence. Elections have been held in 135 constituencies so far, and the remaining 159 seats are set to go to polls between 17 and 29 April.

with inputs from PTI

Also See: West Bengal election 2021 LIVE Updates: BJP poll agent in Kamarthati seat dies after falling sick, EC seeks report

West Bengal Assembly election voting percentage LIVE: 69.40% voting till 4 pm; Rajganj clocks highest turnout at 80%

West Bengal Assembly Election 2021: Full list of 44 constituencies set to vote in phase 4 today

Read more on Politics by Firstpost.